Soulsmithing on Halloween

Halloween is observed in our country for as long as I can remember. As a child,on the evening of Nov.1st, we would go from one house to another singing the song “Nangangaluwa” and ask for a “limos” so that the doors of heaven will not close on us. Most of the neigbors who knew us would give us money and we didnt have to wear any masks nor expensive costumes. All we would do is thank the people who opened their doors and gave us money.

Now that am soulsmithing, I list down all the people I know will welcome the prayers I offer in their behalf. As I  learned and experienced people sending their messages during their final crossing phase across lifezones, I added papercuts as prayer rolls. Last friday, I  hang the prayer rolls in our garden. In the medieval ages, the Scottish and Irish traditions made this Halloween rites part of their autumn rituals and the Scots and Irish believed that the souls need to be ushered from purgatory to heaven.

I pray for the hundred and twenty one persons on my prayer roll. Sophie Bodegon posted a lovely prayer in her Facebook wall . My favorite is Rumi’s discovery of the Divine  and am reposting it in this blog with Steve Job’s  final words.

“I am bewildered by the magnificence of your beauty,
and wish to see you with a hundred eyes.
I am in the house of mercy,
and my heart is a place of prayer.”
Rumi

“Oh Wow, Oh wow,Oh wow.” Steve Jobs

Explore posts in the same categories: Babaylan, Spirituality

Leave a Reply

