Becoming and being a whole person

Last week, Ed and I met a young boy growing into a man. We met his father three years ago and then we heard his son met a serious accident last october during a swimming date.  The son became paralyzed after the swimming accident. He bumped his head and was brought to the ICU. That was six months ago. Ed heard the father was looking for hope for his son this summer and offered to bring me to their place. When we flew to Cebu, we went to visit the family. I had prepared for the session but was not ready to see a growing boy. He is almost as tall as Ayen ,5″6 and is handsome. I introduced myself and what I will be doing for him. I brought all my tools – my anatomy dictionary and my manuals.

For those who havent been introduced to the bodytalk system, we do not use the usual medical tools.We use our own brains and hands but since am still learning anatomy and physiology, I had to consult my manuals.

First, I had to balance myself because I became overwhelmed – the boy is in a bed attached to a ventilator and wearing a neck brace. He is completely paralyzed , what neurologists describe as quadraplegic- cannot move his arms and legs, cannot talk due to the ventilator, can only blink and form words with his lips. He is fed every four hours in a tube attached to his stomach and all his eliminatory functions are handled by nurses. I did not ask for the diagnosis nor prognosis because I didnt want to be influenced by what is called mirror agenda – where the bodytalk practitioner is more focused on her own agenda of treatments rather on what the client’s priorities are.

I asked permission from the boy whom we will call Vito by having him  blink his eyes when I start  checking energy imbalances. For me, the whole session was a difficult one and I tried to be as gentle and focused. For the family, I had to annotate what was happening and told them where I was, eg. entering into his lungs, into his brain, into his lymphatic  and reproductive system…

But what is revealing is that Vito is growing fast into a man and wants to become a whole person. How will he become one when he is confined to a room and a bed? He is only 13 years old, the time of puberty and all his senses are in, what we describe, in spring mode. What do boys like Vito do? He needs to explore life, to become a man.

So how can his family help him? All these questions I found in his pineal and pituitary glands. But I do not have the answers. I listen and I communicate.

In the hope of getting answers by blogging, maybe the innate wisdom of those who know, will respond and lead to Vito’s spontaneous healing. God’s will be done.

Explore posts in the same categories: health

Leave a Reply

