How to enjoy being 59 years old

Being 59 is a  season for grace for me. I will not subtract a year nor add. The Chinese round it up to 60 while many women describe it as feeling 29. Women have been changing how they look at growing old. In the age of cougars – or women who take young lovers – it is the time to enjoy being a full woman. This is how I feel – being a full woman but I need not be a cougar to enjoy good sex. 

What does 59  years bring ? A sense of confidence that what I have and who I am is what I worked hard for. My dearest friends sent me various essays on enjoying life yesterday as I limber up to 59 years.Of all the texts that I got as greetings, one sassy friend asked me to have as many orgasms for the two of us – which meant that she had not been enjoying it. I texted back that she would receive hers via my chakras.

Women friends who have menopause frequently describe their sex life as “Gone with the Wind”. Being a woman does not stop with the end of menstruation and fertility. A 59-old body  doesnt feel like a’ Venus rising from the sea ‘but it can provide many joys, almost like an Indian summer. This is how Ed describes me when he looks at me ” You ,Girlie are in bloom ,like an Indian summer, all the colours and shapes are in their brightest and expressive tones.” Yes, that is what I look like – my hair dyed in various shades of brown,my weathered skin moisturized daily with virgin coconut oil, my cheeks patched with rashes and my breasts reaching below the bra line. Sometimes I have to get a walking stick to get to the toilet in the morning.I cannot read text smaller than 12 fontsize nor do sms in a minute.

 But when I look at my feelings now, I have lots of red chilies,  spicy orange, radiant purple, electric blue, and  delicious green. Even the way I see friends – they are  my silver and gold. Five to six decades of growing have opened my eyes and ears to the degree that I want to live to ninety-nine years.

Being 59, I know many things now. Am bodywise. I do have many aches and my body always issues many signals. I know now why my hands cannot twist all the caps when opening drinks. But many nieces and nephews can serve me all the drinks I want. I know now why I cannot carry ten kilos of  groceries up three stories.I need not worry because many boys and girls carry my load when they see me. I know now why I  cannot do kayaking or water skiing. My daughter Ayen can do those sports for my fun. My body will not allow me to do what young people do because my muscles, my bones and my heart have the strength of a 59 year old.  Having  so many adventures, I wear my body as a seasoned coach. I am grateful my body advises me what I can do. Am not complaining since my legs and lungs can still bring me to many places where I see friends and exchange stories ,eg. walk around Edinburgh and Glascow last September, travel to Zambales farms last week, fly to Cagayan de Oro this week and meet many peacebuilders like the BMFI people. How many women can be as free to go wherever one wants to be?

So, women, we dont have to hide our age. We earned every day of  each year we live and love.Am proud I am 59 and happy. Ed lives longer because he knows I am whom he wants as a smartmate.

Explore posts in the same categories: health and food, Lifelong learning

Leave a Reply

