How to celebrate advent,xmas and the new year

Tonite, I have to start organizing  how Ed and I will celebrate the holidays. It is going to be simple since in the previous seasons we were caring for Inay. We will miss Inay but we are comforted by the thought that her xmas will be the real one since she is where Jesus lives. For me,  celebrating with loving people will be the priority, not just family but friends and community.

First are the people with whom we  share meals and gifts. Christmas is a time for us to see people we seldom see due to our work . We will go to Lucena  first, clean our home which we seldom live in , put up a native bamboo xmas tree, adorn it with gifts and  have Ayen enjoy her many cousins . I will probably gift my siblings  my home made vinegar laced with tarragon and rosemary. If this vinegar passes their palate, then I will give them to  my elementary and high school classmates whom I couldnt visit during their birthdays. Should my vinegar be a success, I will share them with our more discriminating neighbours and godparents. I will even bring some to the Carmelite nuns to thank them for all the praying they did for us.

On a fantasy limb, I told Ed I wanted to raise a million pesos for reforesting  Mt. Pinatubo as an Advent event . Three items came to my mind : I would raise a million pesos, distribute them in  crispy new twenty pesos bills to fifty  thousand tree volunteers and have them all plant the trees in  Mt. Pinatubo when New Year arrives. Ed smiled when I told him I already went to MetroBank to reserve a million pesos worth of twenty peso bills. Even the bank manager and staff were challenged by my request. I didnt tell them that I would still have to find the million pesos. So I threw my request to the cosmic basket. Once the universe  grants my request, I will be pursuing this mission.

After this cosmic wish,  we will go  to Naujan   and partake of the festive menu. Am going to buy  more organic rice and vegetables from the Mindoro  farmers of  Go Organics. We havent been in Naujan since Inay died in February and will bring a bouquet to her grave and that of Ed’s father Vivencio. Ed is planning to visit Ormeco, the electric cooperative in  Oriental Mindoro  and discuss how consumers can develop their voices in the light of electricity rates going up.

After taking stock of my resources and time , I will suggest to Ed  developing stronger  links with the organic farmers of Quezon by scheduling a  green  festival in Sariaya or Pagbilao, depending on what Rep. Procy Alcala and our Go Organics  movement can whip up. We find Procy Alcala very enthusiastic with organic farming and his green  agricultural program is very much evident in the Sariaya market. I plan to buy a 100  kilos of all the vegetables  in Sariaya after the New Year ‘s feast and gift them to friends  who survived the  three typhoons. All I have to do is find the  Three Kings who will act as sponsors for the organic food  shopping.

People,organic  food, vinegar-making  and raintree foresting in Mt. Pinatubo   will fill up my holidays . By the time 2010 arrives, I will probably be smelling of vinegar, tarragon  and rosemary. Hopefully, it will lead to my raising a million pesos for Mother Earth. Then it will really be a  Great  2010.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “How to celebrate advent,xmas and the new year”


  1. […] gift of old age December 22, 2009 Mind Deep contemplates getting older, as does M.Villariba. Me too. Winter is a natural time for such thoughts to emerge. How interesting to observe these […]


Leave a Reply

