dental poke and jaw courage

every week, i dare myself go to my orthodentist. for a whole month, i had all the excuses not to see my orthodentist. because my mother died i told myself i will devote a whole month to prayers. but after four weeks of being  stress free, my dentist text me ” When will  you come for the delayed drill po ?”

so i wrote to my bodytalk access mentor, dorothy friesen. she guided me to practice bodytalk and rely on my innate wisdom. she told me about the stomach meridian points and the 5 chinese elements. they seem to be a fine way of reaching my inner jaw wisdom. after doing the protocols . that’s how the bodytalk access begins, it’s smart and easy to do.  i went to my orthodentist. she missed me and put out all the sharp metal drills. wow! i  felt butterflies rioting in my gut and once the drilling started, all the energy went into my ears and stomach. i  almost jumped out of the dental chair but restrained myself by saying ” can we just drill for 10 minutes? ” “let’s talk more and find another way to dissolve the glass polymer cement?” i pleaded.  in a short period of rest, my orthodentist said ” why dont we examine your   temporamandibular jaw?”   in short, my dentist had an inspiration ” to prevent any damage to your jaw and face, you may have your x rays and photographs tomorrow.”  oomm, that seems to be a sound protocol. since i had problems earlier with my bite and  jaw.  had been preventing it with acupuncture sessions, i consented to go for it. so off i went to Sm Block for the lapid dental clinic.

what a session to have your jaw and mouth examined by x ray and digital picture technology! for the fearless, i recommend it as a rite of passage. for the timid, shout and keep your bite. it is not a relaxing photo shoot. all i could do was bear and grin the process. it is almost like a surreal protocol. first they let you stand in the x ray room wearing a heavy metal vest. then they hook you up in a contraption that immobilizes your head and something goes inside your ears to block the radiation. the technician, who happened to be pregnant, tells you ” Relax your lips, bite,close your mouth, say MMMMM, dont move your head, dont close your eyes, dont move at all.” she does the operation outside the room and you get zapped right and  left ,3 times. that means 6 xray photos.  then she instructs me  “You will have your photo ops”/ thinking it is the usual digital photos, i went out to the dentist who has been napping in the other room. she looks at me and tells me ” sit down po dito” . she looks at my face, then touches my shoulders, rearranges my seat, shoots every angle. she examines all the pictures but never shows them to me. after twenty minutes of posing  i thought it was over.

“hindi pa po tapus” she tells me while another dentist consults her over an x ray of three molars. i am made to sit in the dental chair and i see a couple of small mirrors on a dish of water. she takes the mirror and then wipes it. “I will put the mirror inside your mouth” as she was telling me “open wide your mouth, i could feel the warm metal in my cheek and two clamps on my mouth stretching it.” of course my tongue began to resist the invading mirror!  “Please relax your tongue and dont push the mirror”  reprimanded the dentist. i had to tell her to stop until i could tame my offending tongue.  this session took a lot of restraint on my part. no one explained the whole procedure. nor did i expect the sessions to be gruelling. after the whole operation, i felt my mouth traumatized and my jaw rebellious.

i immediately texted my orthodentist ” why didnt you tell me how  difficult it was to be a in a  dental photo ops?” my dentist apologized.  i  went home feeling a toothless and weak. it seemed all my privacy had been invaded. i never talked about it at home. i just went to bed nursing my mouth and jaw. this is what medical technology brings – a whole visual poke into our inner world. i pray that the next session with my dentist will not inspire her to another modern solution to my dental woes. amen.

Explore posts in the same categories: health

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “dental poke and jaw courage”

  1. marvin Says:

    How does “bodytalk access” work?

    I feel my body is crying out to me for healing, but I just don’t know how and syntehtic drugs is out of the question. Please help.

    • mvillariba Says:

      marvin, you need to google the bodytalk website. i can explain how it works but it seems you need a session on the innate wisdom of the body. our mentor, dorothy friesen is a good healer. google her name and you may find it. you can write her.

      the other doctor who may be able to help you is dr.susan balingit, advocate of slow food movement. for her, the right food and lifestyle is the key to healing. she can be reached via the phil rural reconstruction movement aka PRRM. go to the PRRM website.


Leave a Reply

