writing three books in one

this may has been very busy with ed and i. we are trying to write three books, prepare for the 60th wedding anniversary of my parents and paint each day to make it to ed’s august show. but it is the writing that really drives me to a pace i have never gone into. i sleep in the book, wake up in the book and use all my thinking power in the book. if there is a book driven woman, that’s me today.

last friday, ed and i went to peta’s 40th anniversary. they launched their storybook and it has a thousand pages! wow, that’s a feat producing stories that span 40 years. i went out to find out how they did it. first, it took ten years and there was a long procession of editors,writers,artists and managers. after a long delay , it took three women : beng cabangon, laura samsom and brenda fajardo to get the book written and launched.

i told ed” we dont have ten years to get the villaribas’ story of 60 years” and ed smiled at me. tonight we are still at the computer selecting, editing, finetuning the book that turned out to be three books. i emailed my siblings and told them to start promoting the books so we can get sponsors for the press run. why are we doing three books all at the same time? well, for one, my parents will never have another golden wedding. they are already in their bonus years and 60 years of marriage is the grandest event of their life. also, it is timely to get our clan honoring our parents, what their legacy is. the first book is all about love and life . the second book is the educational ideas, reflections and practices of my father and mother . they have been teachers since 1947. my father taught for 60 years while my mother taught for 39 years. the third book is our essays on lucena as a learning city, a proposal to widen the space and scope of learning. there are more than 200 photos and my headache revolves around who gets more mileage because their pictures are already available. i have sent out appeals since last year to give me the latest family fotos. as usual, at the last minute, people are sending me their photos via email.

ed has a lot on his tray : he needs to go home frequently to naujan to care for inay. he also has to earn more money since it is tuition time and ayen needs funds in college. not to mention a budget for a laptap ,a camera and a new calculator. ed also has to finish 30 paintings for his show in gsis museum on august 1st-22nd.

on my part, i also have to work for isis and craft a roadmap for its new executive since she will be coming from another country, another culture. besides i need the money to support another child , not mine, but our yaya whose daughter angela is very bright.

becoming book driven is the best thing that has happen to me right now. i understand many things that my parents did for us. as i write the stories that my parents verbally transmitted, i see patterns in my own household. i see why i am the way i am as a mother, a wife and a daughter. i am sure my sisters too are beginning to appreciate all the work that i am throwing at them. every day, i call on them to do a hundred things – get interviews, check out details, ask where is nanay’s best friend, etc. making three books have led me to discover the little roads and creeks in our storyline. connecting them led me to a bigger community. finding a bigger community led me to remembering those who made it possible for us to be who we are. the books honor my parents as much as they honor a community where we belong and are loved.

i suggest to friends to do the same for their parents and families. write books. write as if this is the best thing that you can do while your parents are still alive and smiling.

Explore posts in the same categories: Lifelong learning, Love and marriage, Lucena Learning City

Leave a Reply

